One of Those Days….

March 21, 2012 at 8:53 am 1 comment

This is pretty ironic considering my previous post but that’s life I guess.

I thought yesterday was a pretty good day.  The weather was phenomenal – I think it actually hit 70 degrees yesterday.  70!  In the Northeast – in March!  That is unheard of around here!  It was an absolutely beautiful day.  My warm, fuzzy, happy feeling spring feelings lasted all the drive home from work to about 25 mins. after I walked through the door.

Then my son started in.  Now, I adore this little guy, and he is usually quite good.  But yesterday, I don’t know what got into him.  Mouthy, fresh, disrespectful, rude, annoying – you get the picture.  Within minutes of coming home my blood pressure was rising and I was yelling my head off.  Not a pretty picture.

I was angry at his behavior, I was mad that I was mad, and I was really pissed off that he ruined my beautiful day.  All I could think of was “now I know why some animals eat their young!”  Ugh.

As soon as my husband came home I told him what happened, which I don’t usually do.  I mean, who wants to come home from work to be accosted at the door with “do you know what your son did today”?  But I did it anyway.  My authority wasn’t getting any respect so I let Dad set him straight.  Little man stayed in his room for a long time. 

And even though he apologized I was still a little angry with him the next morning.  I know 11-12 is a tough age for boys, I just hope I have the patience to deal with it and that he gets over it soon.

Is it just me or are all boys like this?

Entry filed under: Spouts and Obversations.

Thoughts from Clover Lane Today..

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Margo  |  March 21, 2012 at 11:41 am

    My “darling” 12-year old girl had one of THOSE moments too. She has a lot of them recently. Last night she was door-to-door-ing in the neighborhood, some school fundraiser. Called me to see if she could go to a different, and specific street. When I told her “No, because there’s a registered sex offender there, and you can’t go on that street without a grown-up”, I got from her “Whatever.” When I asked her not to whatever me, I then got “Well it’s better than what I WANT to say to you”. I too got an apology, but doesn’t that just seem, often, too little too late?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


