The Continuing Battle of the Bulge

June 15, 2012 at 8:43 am 2 comments

I have been waging a war for a very long time, my own private Waterloo.  I’ve been fighting my body’s tendency to expand laterally and spherically for years now, and it is getting old.

I have been on and off several different diet/lifestyle changes for years the latest campaign since January when a group of parents from my son’s hockey team decided to do a biggest loser challenge.  I didn’t win the challenge but I did drop some extra pounds, 11 lbs. to be exact.  Not bad.  But I need to lose more, a lot more. Like, at least 20lbs more.  I am not exaggerating either.

At the vertically challenged height of 5’4″, the amount of weight I’m currently carting around with me is not in proper proportion to the space I have available.  And frankly, I’m sick of lugging all of me all around town.

I’m currently on the “17 Day Diet” plan which is basically, eat a lot of fruits, veggies and lean meats for 17 days to kick-start your weight loss. 

After the first phase you gradually introduce some carbs.  It is pretty easy and straight forward except for the no alcohol part, which, let’s face it, is damn near impossible and just down right cruel.  By Friday, Momma needs to take the edge off.

In addition, by day 17 if I have to eat another flippin’ salad I’ll lose it completely.  Salads are boring.  And making real food, i.e. veggies, lean meats, no pasta, etc. is just too much work.  Like Sweet Brown says, “Ain’t nobody got time for that!”.

It’s the cooking healthy meals part that kills me.  I am not a cook. 

Don’t get me wrong, I cook everyday for my family.  I just don’t enjoy doing it.  My meals are your basic American fare: pasta, rice, meat, some veggies topped with sauce or cheese.  Not the pinnacle of healthy but not horrible either. 

My younger sister does not share my abhorrence for the culinary arts.  She actually LOVES to cook.  She is currently embarked on the Paleo Lifestyle of eating like a caveman i.e. no processed foods at all.  Her love of cooking is helping her pull it off as she can concoct all sorts of yummy fresh meals for her and her little ones.  She is also undertaking a 21 day Sugar detox program in which she completely cut out sugar from her diet, including, are you sitting down?  No alcohol.  At all.  No wine, cosmos, nutthin’.

That is just wrong.

That is definitely not the program for me.  So instead I will continue on with my 17 day plan, actually I have to start over because of my epic fail yesterday – very bad food choices on my part.  You can always start over right?  Right.  I’m just hoping I can get past the first 17 days and start having some carbs again.  Love me some bread.

Entry filed under: Spouts and Obversations. Tags: , , , , , , .

First Prom Tuesday’s Thoughts: A Potpourri of Spouts and Observations

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hannibal2003  |  June 15, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Have you ever tried an Herbalife meal replacement shake? My friends have lost 30 and 45 pounds in about 2 months and still losing and my wifejust started a week ago and already the baby weight is coming off. No hard diet, just eat healthy, stay active and replace 1 or 2 meals with the shakes ( which are actually pretty good). They’re high in protein too, so you don’t feel hungry for a long time.

    Reply
  • 2. The K Spot  |  June 15, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Come over to the dark side my friend…..come ovahhhhhhhhhh! Look at Paleo – read Robb Wolf’s book – do the 21 Day Sugar Detox – I promise you won’t regret it!!!!!!!

    I’m lifting almost double the weight I did last week in legs now….jumped up 10 lbs in arms…..I feel strong like BULL!!!!

    And remember, cooking with fresh ingredients isn’t difficult and you can tolerate anything for 21 days…my Lord girl! We incubated babies DURING 3 LONG SUMMER MONTHS!! This s**t is a piece of cake! (No pun intended.)

    I know you can do this. Keep going!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


