Tuesday’s Thoughts: A Potpourri of Spouts and Observations

June 19, 2012 at 11:51 am 4 comments

I think I must have ADD.  That’s the only explanation I can come up with for all the randomness racing through my brain these days.  So much I have to do, so much I want to get done…..you get the picture.  When my son was younger he would ask questions incessantly, usually first thing in the morning when Mama is having a hard time focusing her brain enough to make her first  cup of tea of the day.

  Finally, after my third or fourth attempt to answer his many questions I  asked, “Brendan, why do you ask so many questions”? And without missing a beat he said,  “I don’t know, I guess I’ve got a lot of thinkin’  in my head.”

 So that’s it. I have a lot of thinking in my head.

 

That being the case, I thought I’d bring you up to speed on all the thinking in my head this morning.

 

 

1) Battle of the Bulge: updates from the front.  Things have been progressing slowly the past few days.  I have either lost a bit (i.e. oz. to 1 pound) or remained at the same weight.  This of course is entirely my own fault and not the 17 Day Diet program, which, if you follow it to the letter, you would see much better results.  I don’t play by the rules – bit of a rebel, and thus, my results aren’t as good as they could be.  Seriously, give up my Mommy juice for 17 days, what am I a nun?  Hells no. It’s not even the alcohol as I really only have a few on the weekend.  It is my inability to stop SNACKING. Ugh! The time between when I get home from work and get dinner ready is the absolute worst!  That’s my downfall right there, my Waterloo. My little sissy tells me I’m stronger than I think I am (see her sweet words of encouragement here) but I’m not so sure.  If you have any tricks to help, please let me know.

2) My Bookshelf:  I finished “Wicked Business” by Janet Evanovich, loved it. Light, funny and enjoyable without having to stretch the wrinkles out of your brain.  Nice fluff.   I’m still crawling my way through “Simplify Your Space” by Marcia Rumsland and getting some organization done along the way. My most recent success was to clear out two large bags of books and papers that were squatting in my bedroom. Yeah! I can see the floor!  I’m also reading

 “Suddenly Frugal” by Leah Ingram

  and  All In Good Time: When to Save, Stock Up, and Schedule Everything for Your Homeby  Tara Kuczykowski  I also picked up a second copy of my daughter’s summer reading assignment “A Prayer for Owen Meany” by John Irving so I can help her  if necessary (parenting points for that if I do say so myself ).

 

 

  And in my car I’m listening to “Faithful Place” by Tara French, , a Dublin murder mystery with absolutely gorgeous Dublin accents. Loving the banter between the siblings.

 3) Decorating Projects and Ideas:

 Been trolling the web spotting lots and lots of great ideas that I wish I had the time/courage to take on myself.  Here are a few that caught my eye:

Family Motto from 71 Toes, one of my all time favorite blogs. Absolutely love it. I’m thinking of

 making one myself and hanging in my house.   I don’t think Shawni would mind if I plagiarized her motto.  Do you have a family motto in your house?  I’d love to hear about it.

 Finding a planner that works for me:  I’ve been through every planner/organization sheet/daily to do list I can find but nothing really worked for me.  I have an whiteboard type family calendar on my refrigerator that has been working out well for us, but I think I just found a system that might be perfect for me from my other all time favorite blog, Clover Lane.

 

 One side is a running to do list, the other is a weekly schedule.  Simple, straight forward, portable, doable.  I’m going to try it out, will keep you posted.

 

 

 

World map mat for boy’s room: How cool is that?   Saw this clever/frugal idea from Batchelor’s Way and knew it would be a great project for Brendan’s room makeover (when the makeover will happen is anyone’s guess, but I like to be prepared for when it does).  You should check out the Pirates room they did for their boys on the cheap.  Fantastic.  Simple how-to instructions here.

As you can see I do have a lot of thinking in my head.  That’s just the tip of the iceberg, I haven’t even gotten to summer plans, kids schedules, etc.  Maybe for another time. 

What’s got you thinking?

 

 

Entry filed under: Spouts and Obversations. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

The Continuing Battle of the Bulge Friday Fun

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The K Spot  |  June 19, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    I have to leave my comments in subparts to correspond to your subtitles:
    Subtitle 1) The key to not snacking on junk everyday is organizing your food in a lunch box before you leave for work: pack your lunch with all the snacks you need for the day’s work: I store my coffee and coconut milk in the fridge at work along with a half carton of eggs; I bring cooked sausage/breakfast meat and (when I am not on the sugar detox) a banana (daily) for morning eats (I nuke the egg in a mug for 45 secs and combine that with the meat and veggies and have that for breakfast while I’m checking emails). For mid morning snack I have a handful of some type of UNSALTED nut like pistachio, almond, cashews. For lunch it’s a protein and veggie like whatever I cooked the night before like chicken or pork, burger w no bun…apple for dessert and a lil cheese thing….what are those things called???? BABYBEL!! Note: after my 2 cups of coffee in the a.m., I never have anything except water with lemon and lime all friggin day long. It’s plenty of food to hold you over until dinner. And for dinners, if I haven’t premade them by Sunday, then I plan something that can be grilled or prepared with fresh stuff in under 30 minutes using epicurious for recipe inspiration. We eat sometimes as late as 8pm b/c of kids activities but it’s all good.

    Reply
    • 2. spoutingmytwocents  |  June 20, 2012 at 7:44 am

      Eating at work is not my problem, it is when I get home and I’m starving! Then I tend to snack on what ever is quick and available while I’m preparing dinner.

      Reply
  • 3. Sad Endings and Bright Beginnings « spoutingmytwocents  |  August 15, 2012 at 9:10 am

    […] This post is all over the place – I’m babbling.  Way too much thinking in my head, again.  So I’ll leave you with thoughts of summer’s end and Fall’s beginning. Share […]

    Reply
  • 4. ramadan 2013  |  August 4, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own
    a similar one and i was just curious if you
    get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you
    prevent it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


