Means Moms – Unite!

June 25, 2012 at 2:13 pm 1 comment

I’m chugging along with my reading list quite nicely, just finished up “Simplify Your Space” , by Marcia Ramsland.

Picked up some really good ideas that I’m hoping to put into play before I forget them. 🙂  Middle aged brain you know.  While I was at the library returning the book I spied this little jewel and was immediately intrigued.

Mean Moms Rule: Why Doing the Hard Stuff Now Creates Good Kids Later” by Denise Schipani

I instantly felt a connection after reading the back cover.  Basically this book shockingly proposes that “mean moms”:

*  say No

*  are Consistent

*  Trust themselves

*  Don’t care what everyone else does

*  let their kids Fail once in a while

Of course I had to take it home.  After reading the first chapter, I’m smitten.  And the best part is, I do most of this stuff already!  I’m a Mean Mom!  Whoo hoo!  Finally, some validation for not giving my kids what they want just because everyone else has it. For instilling in them the notion that they have to Work for things, that there is a distinct difference between what is Needed and what is just Wanted.

Schipani’s parenting philosophy is decidedly old school; to prepare her children to become confident, independent adults with the ability to make a contribution to the world.  To “prepare them for the world, not the world for them”.  This thought process flies in the face of the prevailing practice of giving kids trophies just for competing.  The world is amazing and beautiful but it is also hard and unforgiving and it is our job to raise children with the skills they need to successfully navigate between the two.

I’m really looking forward to reading this one.  The author also has a website, www.meanmomsrule.com which I’m going to check out as well.  What’s on your bookshelf? 

Entry filed under: Reading Corner, Spouts and Obversations. Tags: , , , , , .

Friday Fun Summer Goals

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Denise  |  June 26, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Glad my book’s cover “spoke” to you! I’d love to hear what you think after you read it.
    Denise

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


