Summer Goals

June 27, 2012 at 8:55 am 4 comments

Do you have Summer Goals and/or a Summer To Do list?  My family usually breaks out the poster board and comes up with a wish list of summer activities for summer vacation.   And for the most part, we get the majority of them checked off too.  But we’ve never set up a summer goals list which is something I’ve always wanted to try.

I read about one such summer goals list idea on 71 Toes (my favorite blog – I’ve mentioned it before) put together by Shawni and her lovely family. She has each child make up a list of goals they’d like to accomplish for the summer in the categories of Mind, Body, Service, and Fun and a nifty way to help the kids keep track of their progress.

I’ve started to approach my own brood about the idea of a list of goals for the summer, trying it out on my middle daughter, Emily, who is the most accommodating and willing to try new things. 

She was doubtful at first, but tried her hand at making a list in the end.  If I could find the cord to my camera that would allow me to download pictures to my computer, I’d be able to show you her list, which was adorable, but alas, I have no flippin’ idea where it is, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.  (Memo to me:  go to Walmart or Target and try to find a replacement cord for camera.)

I’m slowly working on my other two who tend to resist any form of change by digging their heels in and rolling their eyes and telling me the idea (whichever idea I’m trying to put forth) is decidedly “stupid”.   Despite their anticipated resistance, I’m really liking the idea of working on goals that foster growth in mind (reading/math), body (some form of daily exercise), service (volunteering or helping out around the house) and fun (what ever activity they want). Which also goes back to the family motto I want to print out and hang prominently in the house (thank you 71 Toes – again)

Love this picture!

On a similar note, I was wandering around Marshall’s the other day, not buying – just looking (and wishing) when I saw this:

I snatched it up without a second thought (thankfully it was only $20) and brought it home.  I’m so glad I did.

Can’t wait to see what the kids come up with for their summer goals.  I’ll keep you posted.

Entry filed under: Spouts and Obversations. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Means Moms – Unite! July 4th Decor

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Margo  |  June 27, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Hmmm…. I can’t find my camera cord either. I love the summer goals idea, wonder how I could adapt it to the custody schedule, routine is so difficult in the summer. ALSO love the picture you found at Marshall’s. Nice buy. I would have snatched it up too.

    Reply
  • 2. spoutingmytwocents  |  June 28, 2012 at 7:41 am

    Thanks! Sometimes I get lucky at Marshall’s.

    Reply
  • 3. Bryn  |  June 28, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Nice blogging, keep up the good work! I like the idea about summer goals. I have a very long list, including finally mastering French (which is never going to happen).

    Reply
  • 4. littlebitofboondocklife  |  June 29, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Love the summer goals! Miss you tons friend!
    P.S. “Upstairs, Upstairs. Everybody upstairs!” 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


