Reading Corner – What’s in my Book bag?

July 13, 2012 at 11:58 am Leave a comment

My book bag is still chock full of books I’m slowly working my way through, seems like there are so many interesting books out there I can’t help myself.  One of the major drawbacks of working at a library is that you tend to see so many interesting titles that you take them home with grandiose plans of reading them all, which rarely is the case.  It is also the biggest perk of working at a library.  I love seeing all the new books coming in and discovering different subjects and stories.  In fact, I feel very uneasy if I don’t have a ton of library books at home.  It’s like I’m missing something.

Currently, on my nightstand:

52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You,  by Brett Blumenthal

  I am very slowing working my way through this one, trying to incorporate each new weekly change.  I might even buy this book so I can really take my time and focus and each new week’s project.  Actually, breaking down and buying a book is a pretty big deal for me since I have access to so many books between my two library jobs.  I really can’t understand how anyone can just go out and buy books that you can get for free at the public library.  Plus, I tend to be ahem, frugal with what little funds I have. (My little sis is reading this and agreeing whole heartedly.

Writing Picture Books: A Hands-On Guide from Story Creation to Publication, by Ann Whitford Paul

 I’ve always loved children’s books and have dreamed of writing one myself some time in the future, like when I retired.  But then I thought, why wait?  Try to do it now.  So, I am. 

You Can Write Children’s Books, by Tracey E. Dils  

 I’ve had several ideas floating around my head for the past umpteen years that I’m finally going to put on paper.  I want to write children’s books when I grow up.  There, I’ve said it.  No turning back now. 🙂    I’ve also checked out several books from two children’s authors I admire, Barbara Bottner and Katie Davis so I can study their styles and get a sense of the types of books that get published. 

Double Delicious!: Good, Simple Food for Busy, Complicated Lives, by Jessica Seinfield

 

To be honest, I haven’t even opened this one but my intentions are good.  I’ve scanned the recipes and some look promising.  Have you tried any?

And since I can’t stand listening to the radio in the car I’m listening to  Blood Line, by James Rollins on mp3.      I really enjoy this series.

I’m also still trying to get through A Prayer for Owen Meany, by John Irving, which is basically unreadable.  Oh my is this boring.  My poor daughter has to read this for the summer.  I picked up the audiobook from the library to help her out.

 

Entry filed under: Reading Corner, Spouts and Obversations. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Is That Hamburger Helper? Friday On My Mind

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


