Downward Dog with Broken Toe…

July 24, 2012 at 8:33 am 3 comments

Last night I took my very first yoga class.  And not just plain ol’ yoga, no I had to take a hot yoga class.  Oh boy, where do I begin?  First off, that place was HOT, like holy Moses this is Africa hot.  I have never sweated so much in my entire life.

 Downward dog pose(This of course, is not me.  I couldn’t keep my legs straight and could barely touch the floor and I was drenched in sweat.)

Despite the buckets of perspiration rolling off of me, I really enjoyed the class.  It reminded me of pilates only a tinsy bit nicer.  It was wicked hard, don’t get me wrong.  And to compoud things I did it with a broken toe which screamed at me throughout the entire class.  (I dropped a frozen can of grease on my toe 2 weeks ago.  Ouch.)  I’ve also discovered a few things about myself as well:

  1. It is very difficult to do yoga with a broken toe.
  2. I am extremely unflexible.
  3. I have very poor balance.
  4. I like the warrior pose.
  5. I can sweat ALOT.
  6. I think I like yoga.

Warrior II pose  (This isn’t me either but I looked just like this chic, only fatter, sweatier, and in a mismatched t-shirt and yoga pants.)

The instructor was very nice and wasn’t all hippy-dippy love guru.  She had just the right balance of spiritual vibe with physical toughness, if you know what I mean.  Anyway, I left the class drenched but very relaxed and calm.  Today however, I’m totally hurting but despite my current pain, I would definitely go back again.

Entry filed under: Spouts and Obversations. Tags: , , , , .

Friday On My Mind Olympic Fever!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The K Spot  |  July 24, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Love hot yoga….I hope you keep it up! Didn’t know about the toe….sorry to hear that!

    Reply
  • 2. Linds  |  August 10, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    That’s awesome…reading this made me smile. Thanks for sharing the musings of your first class. And to do a hot yoga one w/ a broken toe…brave soul! I love when teachers have that nice combo of spiritual vs tough. You might find the more you go, the more patience for a bit more “woo woo” you have though 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Sad Endings and Bright Beginnings « spoutingmytwocents  |  August 15, 2012 at 9:10 am

    […] partner regained our Cornhole Champion status! Whoo!) and cook-offs.  I tried some new things too: yoga class for the first time and tennis with the ladies.  (We should definitely try the tennis thing again […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


