Sad Endings and Bright Beginnings

August 15, 2012 at 9:10 am 2 comments

Ah the waning days of summer.

Everything seems to be ending. The Olympics contests are complete, my summer softball is over (we lost is the first round of the playoffs – no biggie), my son’s golf league ends today and his summer hockey season ends next week. 

Everything is winding down, coming to a close.

We haven’t done a tremendous amount of things this summer since Mom and Dad had to work but we are going on vacation next week (finally!) and looking forward to the break.  Taking a vacation at the end of the summer is nice because it is something to look forward to and also offers a chance to relax and reset before the coming Fall and school, sports, holidays, etc.

We did manage to do a few fun things however, lunch and bbq’s with friends, cornhole games (your’s truly and partner regained our Cornhole Champion status! Whoo!) and cook-offs.  I tried some new things too: yoga class for the first time and tennis with the ladies.  (We should definitely try the tennis thing again gals – super fun.)

Summer is not officially over until I go on vacation so I’m having a little difficulty looking forward to and planning for September.  I still have to pack for our trip and make arrangements for someone to feed the cat.  Nothing like leaving things till the last-minute. Oh well, it will all work out I’m sure.

September will bring new beginnings for our clan, middle school, high school, college applications, driving tests, SATs – yikes!  I don’t know about the kids but I’m certainly not ready.  (Oh, and for those who believe in a higher power, please, please remember us in your prayers that my eldest gets accepted to Skidmore.  Thanks.)

I’m also going to try to do some home projects around the house in the midst of all that so wish me luck.  This post is all over the place – I’m babbling.  Way too much thinking in my head, again.  So I’ll leave you with thoughts of summer’s end and Fall’s beginning.

Entry filed under: Spouts and Obversations. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road Dinner Success

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The K Spot  |  August 15, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Summer is not my fave…cuz I have to work and the weather is always so distracting. I love the fall and the kids going back to school….ahhhh, routine, routine, routine!

    Reply
    • 2. spoutingmytwocents  |  August 16, 2012 at 9:17 am

      I agree. There is a lot to be said for predictabiltiy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


